Acceptance Reality Check
Is the Duolingo English Test Accepted? It Depends Where
Acceptance depends on the institution, program, and purpose. As of September 2026, Duolingo advertises 6,500+ institutions accepting its test for admissions. The UK's SELT list excludes it, while degree-level UK Higher Education Providers can assess English themselves; Australia's Home Affairs rules and Canada's Express Entry designations do not list it. This page separates what genuinely holds up from the marketing claims and the myths students repeat to each other.
Guess myth or fact on each claim about Duolingo English Test acceptance
Twelve claims below are things students, forums, and test-prep blogs repeat constantly about the Duolingo English Test (DET). Some are exactly true. A few are true only in one context and false in another, marked depends. Most are overclaims that fall apart the moment you open the actual government or Duolingo page they are supposedly based on. Press Myth or Fact on a card to flip it and see the verdict, the evidence, and a link to the source. Filter by category to deal a smaller hand, or skip the game with Reveal all.
-
Admission · 01
“The Duolingo English Test is accepted everywhere, by pretty much every university.”
As of September 2026, Duolingo's directory advertises 6,500+ accepting institutions worldwide. Some listings carry an asterisk indicating that a test result may be considered in admissions while additional proof of English proficiency may still be requested. An admissions listing does not establish visa or immigration acceptance: the UK's degree-level Higher Education Provider route is separate, while the relevant Australian and Canadian government lists do not include DET.
Source: Duolingo, accepting institutions directory → -
Student visa · 02
“The Duolingo English Test works for a UK Student visa.”
As of September 2026, the Home Office lists five unique approved SELT providers across its UK and overseas lists: IELTS SELT Consortium, LANGUAGECERT, Pearson, PSI Services (UK) Ltd, and Trinity College London. Duolingo is not one of them, so DET cannot substitute for a SELT itself. But if a Student visa applicant is studying at degree level or above, their Higher Education Provider can assess English ability itself; the result must still be equivalent to CEFR B2, and the provider may ask for a different test. If that provider accepts DET for its assessment, the score may support that part of the application without becoming a SELT.
Source: GOV.UK, Secure English Language Tests → -
Student visa · 03
“Australia accepts the Duolingo English Test for the student visa.”
As of September 2026, the Department of Home Affairs accepts Cambridge C1 Advanced, CELPIP General, IELTS Academic, IELTS General Training, LANGUAGECERT Academic, the Michigan English Test, OET, PTE Academic, and TOEFL iBT for Australian visas when taken at a secure test centre. Duolingo is not on that list. Home Affairs also says it does not accept evidence from tests “delivered completely online (also known as 'remote-proctored' or 'at-home')” for visa purposes, and DET is an at-home test.
Source: Australian Department of Home Affairs → -
Immigration · 04
“The Duolingo English Test counts toward Canadian permanent residence through Express Entry.”
As of September 2026, IRCC's designated English tests for Express Entry are CELPIP General, IELTS General Training, and PTE Core. DET is not an approved result for an Express Entry language-test entry. A Canadian school may still accept DET for admission to the program behind a study permit application, but that is a school's admissions decision, not an IRCC-designated language test for permanent residence.
Source: IRCC, Express Entry language testing → -
Logistics · 05
“You can retake the Duolingo English Test as many times as you want.”
As of September 2026, Duolingo's help center caps purchases at three tests in any rolling 30-day period, and after finishing a test you must wait to receive your result before starting a new one. The limit is a rolling 30-day cap, not an open-ended number of tries within the same window.
Source: Duolingo Help Center, retake rules → -
Logistics · 06
“It's just $70.”
The single-test fee is $70 as of September 2026, confirmed directly on Duolingo's own purchase page. That alone breaks the myth: retaking the test once, with no add-ons at all, already brings two separate purchases to $140. Duolingo also sells a discounted two-test bundle; its public help article confirms the bundle but does not state a dollar price, so this page will not print a guessed number for it. Faster Results, an add-on that cuts the two-day wait to 12 hours, typically costs $39 per test according to Duolingo's own Global Partner Network FAQ, and its help center confirms it “does not guarantee a certified result.” If Faster Results is added only to the retake, the two-attempt total is $179, not $70.
Source: Duolingo, purchase a test → -
Admission · 07
“There's no proctor, so it's easy to cheat.”
As of September 2026, Duolingo describes DET's security model as AI plus human review. Its security explanation says AI analyzes more than 75 behavioral and environmental factors, and completed sessions go through multiple independent rounds of review by anonymous proctors. The test also uses identity checks and a second camera, while opening outside applications can stop the test. Accepting institutions can also see the test taker's speaking and writing samples, so an at-home session is not unobserved.
Source: Duolingo, test security explanation → -
Scoring · 08
“A Duolingo score converts cleanly to an IELTS band.”
Duolingo's own methodology notes call these “concordance” tables, built from real paired score reports (1,943 IELTS test takers and 948 TOEFL test takers collected in 2024 to 2025), not a formal equating study. Duolingo warns that the average of the four subscore concordances “does not always align with the overall concordance” because of different datasets and non-linear transformations, and it recommends institutions weigh other factors rather than treat the table as an exact converter.
Source: Duolingo, score comparison methodology → -
Admission · 09
“Top universities don't take Duolingo.”
As of September 2026, Duolingo's accepting-institutions directory lists Stanford, MIT (undergraduate and graduate), Harvard (undergraduate admissions and graduate programs), Princeton, Caltech, Yale, the University of Chicago, Johns Hopkins, Imperial College London, and UC Berkeley, among hundreds of others. Several of those listings carry the asterisk noting extra proof may still be requested from some applicants, but “top universities refuse it” is not what the directory shows.
Source: Duolingo, accepting institutions directory → -
Logistics · 10
“Results come back in about two days.”
As of September 2026, Duolingo states test takers “will receive your Duolingo English Test results within two days of completing the test,” with an optional Faster Results add-on cutting that to about 12 hours. Once your test is in review, Duolingo cannot expedite it further. This is one of the few DET claims that holds up exactly as advertised.
Source: Duolingo Help Center, results timing → -
Logistics · 11
“All you need is a laptop with a webcam.”
As of September 2026, Duolingo's own setup checklist requires a Windows or Mac computer with a front-facing camera and microphone, plus a separate phone with a camera used to film the room and screen as a second recording angle, along with a passport, driver's license, or other government-issued ID. A single laptop webcam does not satisfy the two-device recording setup DET requires.
Source: Duolingo, getting ready to test → -
Scoring · 12
“Duolingo now publishes an official CEFR comparison, not just IELTS and TOEFL.”
Duolingo's 2026 Scoring Guide for Teachers includes a full CEFR-to-DET-to-IELTS-to-TOEFL comparison table, from A1-A2 at a DET score of 10 to 55 up through C2 at 155 to 160. Older Duolingo materials described CEFR alignment as “ongoing,” so this is a genuinely recent addition, worth rechecking if you are relying on an old printout or a third-party chart rather than the current official page.
Source: Duolingo, Scoring Guide for Teachers 2026 →
What does “6,500 institutions” actually count?
Duolingo's current directory advertises 6,500+ accepting institutions worldwide as of September 2026. The directory is searchable by school and shows program-level detail down to individual graduate departments, which is how you can confirm, for instance, that MIT lists DET for both undergraduate and graduate admissions while a specific department elsewhere might not.
What the number does not count is uniform acceptance. Some listings on Duolingo's own directory carry an asterisk meaning the applicant may still need to submit additional proof of English proficiency. The count also has nothing to do with visas or immigration: an institution accepting DET for admission and a government accepting it for a visa are two entirely separate approvals, decided by two different organizations with two different lists. That gap is the whole reason the myth deck above exists.
For the full DET-to-IELTS-to-TOEFL score table, including the four subscores and how the overall score is calculated, see the Duolingo English Test score chart. For how DET stacks up against IELTS and TOEFL on price, format, and government acceptance across four countries at once, see which English test should I take.
How do I check whether my specific university accepts it?
Do not rely on a blog post, a forum thread, or even the summary above. Check the primary source directly, in this order:
- Open Duolingo's own accepting institutions directory and search your school by name. Note whether your specific program appears, and whether it carries the asterisk for additional proof.
- Click through to that program's own English-requirements page. Duolingo's directory links directly to it, and departmental pages sometimes set a higher bar or a different minimum score than the university's general admissions page.
- Search that page for the exact phrase “Duolingo English Test” and read the sentence around it. “Accepted” and “accepted for some applicants, at the department's discretion” are different guarantees.
- If a visa or immigration step is also involved, repeat the check on the relevant government page, gov.uk for the UK, Home Affairs for Australia, or IRCC for Canada, rather than assuming the university's admissions decision extends to your visa. It does not automatically do so.
Should you take the Duolingo English Test?
Take it if
- You have personally checked your specific program's own page (not a third-party list) and confirmed it names the Duolingo English Test as accepted.
- Your course is degree level or above at a UK university whose Higher Education Provider assesses English itself and accepts DET for that assessment, so DET may satisfy the English-assessment step without being a SELT.
- Speed and cost matter more than portability. As of September 2026, results are stated as arriving within two days and the listed single-test fee is $70; that may suit you if your one destination is confirmed to take it.
- You can arrange the test conditions: a private room with nobody else present, a stable connection, a computer with a front-facing camera, and a second device (a phone) to film the setup, all at the same time.
- You are applying to a U.S. program under an F-1 visa and its admissions page confirms DET. Admission is only one step: the State Department says an SEVP-approved school issues Form I-20 after accepting your enrollment, then you apply for the visa and meet a consular officer's requirements. If you are assembling the rest of that paperwork, the F-1 visa document checklist covers what a consulate actually asks for.
Do not take it if
- Your pathway runs through a national visa or immigration language-test list. As of September 2026, each of the UK's SELT list, Australia's Home Affairs list, and Canada's IRCC Express Entry list excludes DET; the score itself does not change those list requirements.
- You have only seen your target on a third-party “universities that accept Duolingo” roundup, not on the program's own current page. Those lists go stale and sometimes list a university's general policy while a specific department disagrees.
- You need it for more than one purpose (admission and a visa, say) without checking each one separately. Acceptance for one use does not automatically transfer to the other.
- You are mid-application with a conditional offer that names a specific test other than DET. Check exactly what your offer requires before booking anything; the guide to conditional offers explains what happens if the named condition is not met.
- You cannot arrange the mandatory at-home setup (private room, stable internet, a second filming device) reliably enough to avoid a flagged or cancelled session, since DET has no in-person fallback if your setup fails.
What do I do if I already took it and my target does not accept it?
- Confirm which step actually refused it. A school's admissions office and a country's visa or immigration authority are different gatekeepers. Your DET score might still be perfectly valid for the admission decision even if the same application later needs a different test for the visa, or the reverse.
- If a program genuinely requires IELTS, TOEFL, or a specific SELT, book that test rather than a second DET attempt. Your DET subscores are not wasted: the concordance table (card 08 above) gives you a realistic target band to aim for on the new test, which is more useful than walking in blind. If you are choosing between IELTS and TOEFL for the retake, our TOEFL vs. IELTS comparison covers format and turnaround differences.
- Check whether a waiver applies instead of a retest. Some graduate programs waive the English test requirement entirely for applicants who meet other criteria, such as a prior degree taught in English. The TOEFL/IELTS waiver guide for grad school explains the common waiver conditions before you spend money on any test.
- For a visa-specific refusal, contact the admissions or international office, not the testing company. If your Confirmation of Acceptance or offer letter needs to be reissued with different proof of English, that is a document the school controls, not Duolingo.
Frequently asked questions about Duolingo English Test acceptance
Does the Duolingo English Test work for a UK Student visa?
As of September 2026, it depends on what you are studying. Duolingo is not one of the five unique providers listed across the Home Office's Secure English Language Test (SELT) lists, so DET cannot substitute for a SELT itself. But if your course is at degree level or above, your Higher Education Provider can assess your English ability itself, and the result must still be equivalent to CEFR B2. If that provider accepts a Duolingo score for its assessment, it may support the English requirement for that pathway.
Is the Duolingo English Test accepted for an Australian or Canadian immigration application?
As of September 2026, Australia's Department of Home Affairs approved-test list for visas does not include Duolingo, and the department does not accept evidence from tests delivered completely online or remotely proctored. Canada's IRCC lists CELPIP General, IELTS General Training, and PTE Core for Express Entry, not Duolingo, so DET is not an approved result to enter into an Express Entry profile. A Canadian school may still accept DET for admission to a program behind a study permit application, which is separate from the IRCC language-test designation.
How many times can I take the Duolingo English Test?
As of September 2026, you can purchase up to three tests in any rolling 30-day period, and you must wait to receive your result before starting a new attempt. The rule is a rolling cap, so it is not unlimited within a 30-day window.
How much does the Duolingo English Test actually cost if I need to retake it?
The single-test fee is $70 as of September 2026. Two separate purchases cost $140 total. Duolingo also sells a discounted two-test bundle; its public help article confirms the bundle but does not state a dollar price, so this page does not print a guessed number for it. Faster Results, an optional add-on that cuts the two-day wait to 12 hours, typically costs $39 per test according to Duolingo's own Global Partner Network FAQ, and does not guarantee a certified result.
Does a Duolingo score convert exactly to an IELTS band?
No. Duolingo's own comparison tables are concordance tables built from real paired score reports, not a formal equating study, and Duolingo states that the subscore concordances do not always average out to match the overall concordance. Treat the comparison as a planning estimate, and check our Duolingo English Test score chart for the full table, not as an exact converter.
Sources
- Duolingo English Test, accepting institutions directory
- Duolingo English Test, test takers overview (6,500+ institutions, 2-day results)
- Duolingo English Test, getting ready (equipment and ID requirements)
- Duolingo English Test, test security
- Duolingo, test security explanation (AI factors and review rounds)
- Duolingo English Test, understand scoring
- Duolingo English Test, purchase a test
- Duolingo Help Center, how often can I take the test
- Duolingo Help Center, two-test bundles
- Duolingo Help Center, results timing and Faster Results
- Duolingo Help Center, Faster Results details
- Duolingo Help Center, Global Partner Network FAQ (Faster Results price)
- Duolingo Help Center, score comparison table methodology
- Duolingo, Scoring Guide for Teachers 2026 (PDF, CEFR comparison table)
- GOV.UK, prove your English language abilities with a SELT
- GOV.UK, Student visa: knowledge of English
- Australian Department of Home Affairs, English language requirements
- IRCC, Express Entry language testing
- U.S. Department of State, student visa process
Related tools and guides
- English Test Acceptance by Country: Visa vs Admission
- Duolingo English Test Score Chart: IELTS and TOEFL
- Which English Test Should I Take: 6-Step Decision Tool
- PTE Academic vs PTE Core: Which One Do You Need?
- English Test Superscore Rules: IELTS, TOEFL, PTE, More
- IELTS Score Requirements: University vs Visa by Country